Review ~ Dead Until Dark by Charlaine Harris

Dead Until Dark (Sookie Stackhouse, #1)Title: Dead Until Dark
Author: Charlaine Harris
Series: Sookie Stackhouse #1
Release Date: May 1, 2001
Genre: Paranormal/Mystery

Sookie Stackhouse is a small-time cocktail waitress in small-town Louisiana. She’s quiet, keeps to herself, and doesn’t get out much. Not because she’s not pretty. She is. It’s just that, well, Sookie has this sort of “disability.” She can read minds. And that doesn’t make her too dateable. And then along comes Bill. He’s tall, dark, handsome – and Sookie can’t ‘hear’ a word he’s thinking. He’s exactly the kind of guy she’s been waiting for all her life.

But Bill has a disability of his own: He’s a vampire. Worse than that, hangs with a seriously creepy crowd, with a reputation for trouble – of the murderous kind.

And when one of Sookie’s colleagues is killed, she begins to fear she’ll be next …

Review:

I have had Dead Until Dark sitting on my bookcase waiting to be read for a very long time.  For some reason I just could not bring myself to pick it up and read it until a couple of days ago.  Man am I really sorry I waited as long as I did!

Sookie has what she likes to call a “disability,” she is equipped with this wonderful thing called ‘she can read your mind even if she doesn’t want to.’  Everyone around Sookie thinks she’s a little bit on the whack-a-doo side because of her “disability.”  Sookie doesn’t date either.  Then she meets Bill…

Bill has a “disability’ of his own…the “disability’ known as being a vampire.  Bill is originally from Bon Temps and has decided to settle down there now that vampires have come out to the public.  Let’s just say that Bill is a little old-fashioned on somethings, I mean he is an individual who became a vampire post-Civil War.

Sookie and Bill’s relationship is kind of interesting.  I’m a little “eh” on why they got together but as the book progresses I was pleasantly surprised by Bill and Sookie.  Let’s just say that Sookie is a lot stronger than people give here credit for.

The conflict in the book was really interesting.  There were so many people who could have killed these people and I give major props to the author for not making the murderer to obvious to figure out.  I really don’t care for Andy Bellfluer though.

In this first book in the Sookie Stackhouse series, we are introduced to a whole host of characters besides the main players.  I am really liking Sam who is the owner of the bar that Sookie works at.  As I have already stated I really don’t care for Andy Bellfluer though.  I’m conflicted by Jason, I don’t know how to feel about him and his “habits.”  Bon Temps is growing on me a lot too.

Overall, I was really happy with Dead Until Dark.  I will be continuing this series for sure.  I’ve even gone so far as to check the remaining books out of the library.  I can’t give this book 5 Whiskeys because of my lukewarmness of why Bill and Sookie got together and my dislike/unsureness of certain characters.

Rating: 4 Whiskeys

One thought on “Review ~ Dead Until Dark by Charlaine Harris

  1. Pingback: “Dead Until Dark” by Charlaine Harris | Zezee with Books

Leave a Reply

